CHAMP CASTLE
ALTIER , Lozère – Cultural heritage
About
Visits: Heritage Days only “The lordship of the Champ appears in the deeds in 1498. A first campaign of work, at the end of the 15th century, concerns the corner tower known as the “keep”. The ensemble formed by the staircase tower and the adjacent buildings appears to date back to the 16th century. The small diameter turrets are certainly later, marking an expansion which could date back to the 17th century. In the 19th century, the entrance having been transferred from one facade to another, the current vestibule was built and covered. The exterior chapel is also recent. The mass of the castle bristles with six towers and turrets. Four of these works mark the corners of the construction. Another divides the larger facade in two. The sixth, inside, houses the staircase. The oldest of these towers, the “keep”, serves as a support for the wing located to the right of the entrance terrace. The dungeon is the only one to have defensive elements. (Merimée Base)
Opening
- From samedi 20 septembre 2025 to dimanche 21 septembre 2025
Services
Services
- Visites individuelles libres
- Visites groupes libres
Get there by liO Car or city bus
A moins de 10 mn à pieds de l’arrêt ALTIER – ALTIER – Biscuiterie Chataigne !
Cet arrêt est situé sur les lignes : MENDE – VILLEFORT – GARDE GUERIN (254)
Environ 2 min (185 m).
Calculez votre itinéraire pour votre voyage en Occitanie avec les trains ou les cars Lio
Calcul itinéraires et recherche horaires